Students and the coach of the 2023 Laskin Moot Team

Mooting & Debating

You can participate in both non-credit and credit moots during your time at UCalgary Law.

Credit moot program

Credit moots are open to second and third-year students.

The Mooting & Debating committee, in consultation with coaches, select students for the credit moot program based on the following criteria:

  • Your participation in the McGillivray and other moots
  • Your ranking of more than one moot choice in the program
  • Your letter of interest (one page), including past education and professional experience
  • Your grades/GPA (please supply an unofficial transcript)
  • A sample of your writing (a 2-3 page portion of a factum/memo/paper, etc.)

Applications for the 2023-2024 mooting program are due Friday, June 9, 2023 at 4 p.m. (MDT)

  • Adam F. Fanaki Competition Law Moot (4 mooters)
  • Alberta Court of Appeal Moot (6 mooters; 2L students only)
  • Bennett Jones Health Law Moot (4 mooters)
  • Davies Corporate/Securities Law Moot (4 mooters, 1 researcher)
  • Donald G. Bowman National Tax Moot (4 mooters, 1 researcher)
  • Julius Alexander Isaac Moot (4 mooters, preference given to Black students)
  • Kawaskimhon Aboriginal Circle (4 mooters, preference given to Indigenous students)
  • The Laskin Moot (4 mooters, 1 mooter must be fluent in French)
  • Morrison LLP Family Law Moot (4 mooters)
  • Western Canada Family Law Negotiation (4 mooters, preference given to 3Ls)
  • Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot (4 mooters, 1 researcher)
  • Willms and Shier Environmental Moot (2 mooters)
2023 Fanaki Moot Team

The 2023 Fanaki Moot team

Non-credit moot program

The non-credit moot program consists of the William McGillivray Moot and the Blackstone Medals Debate.

Sponsored by Carbert Waite LLP

  • Open to all JD students
  • Contact: Chantal Pegg,
  • This competition takes place in the Winter session
  • The William McGillivray Moot began in 1979
  • Open to all JD students
  • Contact: Kiara MacDonald,
  • This competition takes place in the Fall session
  • Sign up in pairs with a colleague in any year of law school 

The Blackstone Medals Debate was created in 1980 in honour of Judge Irwin Blackstone, one of the founding members of UCalgary Law. The debate focuses on your ability to provide a clear and concise argument during a structure debate lasting 43 minutes. The debate focuses on the true strength on an argument and give you excellent exposure and practice in oral advocacy.

The winning team will receive a silver medal, $1,000 each, and have their names engraved on the Blackstone plaque. The top oralist will be awarded the Most Outstanding Speaker Cup, donated by Richard N. Billington and Geoffrey D. Baker.

2023 McGillivray Moot Finalists

2023 McGillivray Moot Finalists